So the other night, on my way home, I was totally inspired to cook some sort of cannelloni for my man who had been extremely patient with my new strict gluten-free diet (which I try to respect as much as possible, not so easy).

I was pretty sure I had the basics to make it, or something that resembled what I needed.

Turns out, after cooking my lasagna sheets and meat mixture, I tried to roll the tube-like shaped with the meat stuffing inside but it was a total flop.

So I was left with cooked lasagna pasta sheets and my meat mixture but no way to make any cannelloni.

As I had announced to my boyfriend that he could expect a yummy Italian feast after a hard day’s work, I had to come up with something.

And that is when the revisited lasagna idea was born!

Cupboard ingredients:

  • Lasagna pasta sheets (6-8) depending on the length of your dish. Use your own judgement (this line is going to come back often in my posts)
  • Ground beef
  • Half an onion
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic
  • 1-2 carrots (I used a vibrant red coloured carrot that you often find at the local Metro)
  • Oregano (dried)
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Sun flower seeds
  • Fresh basil leaves

How to:

Pre-heat oven at 150c.

Step 1

Cook the pasta sheets. Once cooked, take out of the water and set aside.

Step 2

In a large pan, pour some olive oil. Set on medium heat. Then pour the diced garlic, onions and carrots in.  Five minutes later add the meat, sun flower seeds and oregano, salt and pepper – add a little but of olive oil and stir.  Cooked slowly so as not to burn any of the ingredients.

Step 3

Once well cooked pour the mix on top of the layer of lasagna mix.

Top it off with the rest of the lasagna sheets.

Then as shown on the photo above sprinkle some pure sea salt, olive oil, sun flower seeds, fresh basil leaves and pepper.

Step 4

Set in the oven for about 20 minutes.

Then put on broil for about 3-5 minutes, stay close by so it does not burn.

Serve with a spinach salad, with olive oil and balsamic dressing.

It should look something like this – nice and homy!

Enjoy!

D.